The Oregon Farm Bureau handed out numerous awards during its annual meeting in Bend in December, and Barry Bushue was elected to an eighth two-year term as bureau president.

Bushue, who runs a family berry, flower basket and nursery operation near Boring, also is vice president of the American Farm Bureau Federation. Peggy Browne of Baker County was elected to a third two-year term as second vice president, and Mickey Killingsworth of Jefferson County was elected chair of the bureau’s Women’s Advisory Council.

Awards presented during the annual meeting included:

Distinguished Service – To sheep rancher Lynne Barnes and his late wife, Ethelma; forestry researcher Mike Newton of Oregon State University; grass and vegetable seed researcher Mike Weber of OSU; and rangeland researcher Doug Johnson of OSU.

President’s Award – To Ron Bjork, president of the Jackson County Farm Bureau, for outstanding service and leadership.

Service to Agriculture – To Lisa Hanson, deputy director of the Oregon Department of Agriculture and a nationally-recognized sheep breeder.

Oregon Farm Bureau Hall of Fame – Gary Harris, a Jefferson County vegetable and grass seed grower; and Malheur County sugarbeet grower Lou Wettstein.

Outstanding County Farm Bureau Secretary – Ellen Williams of Douglas County.


Recommended for you