* Ten scientists, including six at the Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center in Hermiston, Ore., have won an international award for their studies of potato tuberworm control. The Oregon State University scientists earned the Outstanding Extension Project Award from the Potato Association of America at its recent banquet in Corvallis, Ore. The tuberworm team included Phil Hamm, Silvia Rondon, Sandy DeBano, George Clough, Dan Hane, Isabel Vales and Mahmut Dogramaci, all from OSU. Other participants were Steven Arthurs of the University of Florida, Andrew Jensen of the Washington State Potato Commission, and Larry Lacey of the USDA.

* Gary Grove, a professor in the Washington State University Department of Plant Pathology who is working at Prosser, is the first recipient of the WSU College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences' Meritorious Service Award for his service to and leadership of the college's AgWeatherNet System the past four years. Grove served as AWN director from 2006 to 2010 at WSU's Irrigated Agriculture Research and Extension Center at Prosser. During that time, he converted the network hardware to commercially available equipment and expanded it from 60 to 133 weather stations throughout Washington state.

* The Monterey County Farm Bureau and the Central Coast Young Farmers and Ranchers, a subcommittee of the Monterey County Farm Bureau, will award $7,500 in scholarships to four local students majoring in agriculture at the fifth annual Harvest Dance on Oct. 30 in Soledad, Calif. Cal Poly San Luis Obispo student Andrea Melano received a $2,000 scholarship from both MCFB and CCYF&R. Cal State University Fresno student Ilana Pickard received a $2,000 scholarship from both the MCFB and CCYF&R. Cal Poly San Luis Obispo student Haley Markow received a $2,000 scholarship from CCYFR. Modesto Junior College student Erica Bianchi received a $1,500 scholarship from CCYFR.

Recommended for you