* Colorado dairyman Les Hardesty has been elected chairman of the U.S. Dairy Export Council in a special election to fill the seat of Tom Camerlo, who died Dec. 4 following a battle with cancer. Hardesty milks 700 cows on the Painted Prairie Dairy in Greeley, Colo., and also owns the smaller showcase Cozy Cow Dairy educational facility.

* Peter Nelson, vice president of the board of directors of the Coachella Valley Water District, has been chosen as president of the California Farm Water Coalition. The nonprofit coalition educates lawmakers and the public about the importance of a reliable water supply to the farm industry.

* Rebecca Sadinsky has been appointed executive director of PCC Farmland Trust. Kathryn Gardow, the former executive director, will continue on part-time in the newly created conservation director position.


* Ellene Kearney, of Arlington, Wash., has been named Citizen of the Year by the Arlington Masonic Lodge No. 129. She is active in the Washington State Purebred Dairy Cattle Association and many fair and 4-H events.

* John D. and Lynne M. Breese, of Prineville, Ore., received the Outstanding Achievement Award for Stewardship at the Society for Range Management's meeting in Denver. The Outstanding Achievement Award is presented by the Society for Range Management for outstanding achievement to individuals and groups working with rangelands.

* Kirk Davies, of Burns, Ore., has received the Outstanding Young Range Professional Award at the Society for Range Management. The Outstanding Young Range Professional Award recognizes SRM members who exhibit superior performance and leadership potential in any range-related area.


* Gene Terlan, the top Bureau of Land Management official for Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota, has retired. He had been the agency's state director since 2006 and was with the BLM for 36 years, including stints in Oregon, Idaho, Alaska and Utah.


* Marion County Dairy Princess-Ambassador Carly Hartenstein was crowned at a coronation on April 20. She is a junior at Saint Paul High School. She will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Her brothers, Michael Hartenstein and Andrew Hartenstein, received $2,000 scholarships.

Recommended for you