Idaho FFA achievements garner awards

Future Farmers of America members from throughout Idaho converged in Twin Falls, Idaho, April 11 to 14 to take part in the annual Leadership Conference at the College of Southern Idaho campus.

Members, teams, parents and adult leaders win kudos at Idaho conference


For the Capital Press

TWIN FALLS, Idaho -- A strong emphasis of the Idaho FFA Leadership Conference is competitions and achievement awards. Members compete for certificates, medals and plaques in a wide range of categories that include business, science, government and self-improvement.

Parents, adult leaders and sponsors also earn an array of awards.

The State Star Awards for comprehensive achievements are some of the most impressive.

The 2012 Star Farmer Top Award for all-around farming proficiency went to Kimberlyn Fehringer of American Falls. Finalists were Grace Meeker, of Fruitland, Mark Nebeker, of Kuna, and Tyler Ogden, of Malad.

Star Agricultural Placement Top Award for work in the occupation of farming went to Mauro Analco, of Burley. Finalists were Mitch Beasley, of Shelley, Cody Callahan, of Troy, and Zachary Reynolds, of Kuna.

Star Agri-Business Top State Award this year went to Jade Searle, of Shelly. Finalists were Austin Barnard, of Oakley, and Bret Thornley, of West Side.

Star Award Agri-Science Top State Award went to Selena Gregory, of Mackay. Finalists were Kellsie Hodges, of Salmon, Hank Shepard, of Council, and Brett Wilder, of Meridian.

Honorary State FFA Degrees are awarded to citizens for outstanding service and support to Idaho FFA associations and agricultural education in Idaho. Degrees this year were presented to Holly Church, Rebecca Crystal, Sid Freeman, Dan Garner, Dan Hammond, Todd Holbrook, Jessie Kellogg, Dr. Gary Lewis, Lovina Roselle, Cliff Swanson, Stan Wistisen and Janna Volkers.

Distinguished Service Awards went to Ann Stephens, CSI Ag Department, and The Amalgamated Sugar Co.

Additional 2012 FFA Leadership Conference awards and winners were:

Chapter Scrapbook: Division I: Meridian; Division II: Council.

Chapter Floriculture: Kimberly. Individual winner -- Kasey Barney, of Shoshone.

Chapter Nursery and Landscape Design: Middleton. Individual: Colton Mink, of Gooding.

Ag Sales: Gabe Miruanda, of Marsing, and Alyssa Stastny, of Kimberly.

Equine Judging: Kinsie War, Kuna, High individual; Kuna, first place team.

Parliamentary Procedure: Brett Wilder, Meridian, High Chairperson; Taylor Johnson, Meridian, High Secretary; Meridian, first team.

Extemporaneous Speaking: Lauren Clark, of Meridian.

Creed Speaking: Aaron Draper, of Marsing.

Customer Prospecting: Kylie Martin, of Kimberly.

Customer Relations: Cody Rhodes, of Marsing; Top team: Marsing.

Idaho In Action Community Service: Meridian team.

Ag Issues: American Falls team.

Hall of Districts (booth displays at conference): Western Idaho chapter.

Prepared Public Speaking: Brett Thornly, West Side chapter.

Farm Business Management: Amanda Reynolds, of Kuna, Top Individual; Kuna, first place team.

Job Interview: Carlie Wilkins, of Kimberly.

Models of Innovation awards, for chapters that come up with unique ways of doing community service, went to the FFA chapters of Mackay, Homedale and Kuna. Models of Innovation Student Development participants were the chapters of Kimberly, Malad and Parma.

There also were 208 recipients of state FFA degrees for projects done in fields of career development. The "Welding Helmet" award for best FFA degree project went to Ceilidh McElroy of Troy. Proficiency Awards went to 27 participants.

There were 29 talent participants, 26 conference assistants, 13 career development superintendents, and seven visiting state officers from Oregon, Washington and Utah.

For more information, visit the Idaho FFA website.

Recommended for you