15 students from dairy families

receive money


Capital Press

United Dairymen of Idaho and its two branches -- the Idaho Dairy Products Commission and the Idaho Dairymen's Association -- established a scholarship program this year and had intended to award $1,500 scholarships to seven students from Idaho dairy farm families.

But an overwhelming response led the scholarship committee to expand the number of awards to 15.

"There were so many qualified applicants from local dairy farm families that the Scholarship Selection Committee just couldn't turn them away," Mike Roth, president of the Idaho Dairymen's Association and dairy producer from Jerome, said in a press release.

"With the rising cost of college and the past few years of economic tough conditions on dairy farms, even a smaller scholarship like this helps to underwrite the cost of books and classes. Any kind of funding has become extremely important to our kids and families," he said.

The Idaho dairy industry's first scholarship recipients include the following 15 students, who will graduate this spring:

* Billy Arriaga, College of Southern Idaho

* Charisse DeVries, Seattle Pacific University

* Katylyn DeVries, Whitworth University

* Jeremiah McKell Funk, University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston

* Jacob Harris, Brigham Young University-Idaho

* Morgan Hubsmith, Idaho State University

* Kilee Lehman, College of Southern Idaho

* Adam Machado, University of Idaho

* Elizabeth Russell, University of Idaho

* Michael Siegersma, Carroll College

* Nolan Stouder, Point Loma Nazarene University

* Katelin Taber-Barth, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

* Kaitlin Troost, Dordt College

* Andrea Annie VanderWoude, University of Idaho

* Danielle Yett, Providence Christian College

Recommended for you