Home Ag Sectors

CFBF distributes $226,200 in college scholarships

Published on December 31, 1969 3:01AM

Last changed on September 9, 2013 7:05AM


Capital Press

SACRAMENTO -- More than 70 college students statewide are sharing in $226,200 in awards handed out by the California Farm Bureau Federation's Scholarship Foundation.

Scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 per student were given based on the applicants' academic achievements, leadership skills, career goals, extracurricular activities and other factors, the state Farm Bureau explained.

The students included 36 recipients of the Rustici Livestock and Rangeland Scholarship Award, which is $2,500 or $5,000 and benefits those studying rangeland management and plan careers in beef or sheep ranching or in range management, according to a news release.

This year's award winners also included six recipients of "special scholarships" of $2,500, the CFBF noted.

* Ryan Lundberg of Chico, an incoming California State University-Chico junior who won the Howard P. Wackman II Perpetual Memorial Award, named for the late CFBF vice president. Lundberg is an agricultural business major and plans to become a pest control adviser and help on his family's rice farm.

* Gavin Abraham of Livingston, an incoming sophomore at California State University-Fresno, earned the Frederick J. Heringer Honorary Award named for the late CFBF president. He plans to return home after graduation to help run his family's farm.

* California State University-Stanislaus senior Bronte Phillips was granted the Carolyn Richardson Memorial Award, named for a deceased CFBF environmental advocate. Phillips plans to attend law school after graduation to pursue a career in agricultural law or lobbying, according to the Farm Bureau.

* Fresno State incoming sophomore Jacob Carlson of Elk Grove won the John H. Weichman Memorial Award, which is in memory of a deceased Farm Bureau leadership development manager. Carlson majors in animal science and plans to be a large-animal veterinarian.

* Bethany Couchman of Modesto and Joshua Donnelly of Sacramento received scholarships sponsored by the Agricultural Lenders Society of California. Couchman is a sophomore at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo studying agribusiness, while Donnelly will be a junior at the University of California-Davis majoring in managerial economics.

Among the Rustici recipients were: Lindsey Affonso, Palo Cedro; Frank Arburua III, Stockton; Jessica Arndt, Inverness; Erica Bianchi, Gilroy; Bailey Bidwell, Hat Creek; Kendra Brennan, Sonora; Clayton Brown, San Luis Obispo; Emily Cehrs, Sanger; Hope Connolly, Tracy; Brandon Denier, Galt; Jaxon Fitzgerald, Palo Cedro; Sydney Fultz, Modesto; Kathleen Furtado, Bakersfield; Kristine Gomez, Philomath, Ore.; Bailey Hagata, Susanville; Tom Hardesty, Elk Grove; and Jackie Hardesty, Elk Grove.

They also included Justine Henderson, Cottonwood; Natalie Holmberg-Douglas, Penn Valley; Alison King, Atwater; Leland McDonald, Galt; Cody McDougald, Friant; Stephen Miller, Tracy; Katie Olagaray, Lodi; Joshua Polich, Visalia; Weston Roberti, Loyalton; Jacob Rogers, Glennville; Jordan Sparrowk, Clements; Katie Stroud, Adin; Kaitlin Swickard, Susanville; John Thompson, Hollister; Grace Tobias, Tres Pinos; Kiah Twisselman, Santa Margarita; Dustin Wallis, Arcata; Austin Whittle, Susanville; and Lee Yantis, Bakersfield.

In addition, 36 young adults won CFBF scholarships of $1,000 for college seniors and $1,250 for enrolled college students.

They were: Collin Abraham, Livingston; Kristin Alamo, Modesto; Suzanne Amaral, Sonoma; Kerilyn Ambrosini, Ferndale; Hannah Beeler, Escalon; Adrienne Bradley, Grass Valley; Jana Colombini, Linden; Jason Colombini, Linden; Joshua Dowell, Coarsegold; Maddie Dunlap, Maxwell; Adelaide Dyer, Alpine; Maddison Easley, Nevada City; Brandon Emery, Winters; Casey Erickson, Porterville; Katerina Flores, Marina; Hannah Fortin, Janesville; Francesca Gambonini, Petaluma; and Mackenzie Gomes, Willows.

The CFBF grant recipients also included Ben Granholm, Grass Valley; Brea Haller, Imperial; Kimberly Macintosh, Sutter Creek; Corinne Madison, Acampo; Kellie Mancino, Hollister; Alex Marsh, Arbuckle; Natalie Massa, Willows; Amy McBirney, Morgan Hill; Jake Odello, Carmel; Taylor Pires, Los Banos; Katherine Roberti, Loyalton; Courtney Taylor, Yuba City; Gianna Toso, Hornitos; RaeAnne vanTol, Ramona; Jessica Vazquez, Cottonwood; Samantha Viano, Martinez; Danielle Wood, Susanville; and Taylor Zumstein, Fallbrook.

The CFBF's foundation has distributed more than $2 million in scholarships since its inception in 1955.


California Farm Bureau Federation: http://cfbf.com/index.cfm


Share and Discuss


User Comments