Home Ag Sectors


Published on May 23, 2013 3:01AM

Last changed on May 23, 2013 7:10AM

The Hermiston FFA Chapter Banquet was held on May 20th at the Hermiston High
School. At this event several individuals and teams were recognized for their contributions to the
chapter throughout the past year.
The evening began with guest speaker Zech Hintz, the 2012-2013 Oregon State
Treasurer, the awarding of several chapter individual awards, the recognition of those teams
which excelled in their respective contests and concluded with the inauguration of the 2013-2014
Hermiston FFA Chapter Officers.
The Star Greenhand Award was given out this year to Sofia Gispert. Brady Linnell was
named the Hermiston FFA's Hermiston FFA Outstanding Freshman of the year. Abbye
McDonough received the Star Chapter Farmer award this year as a senior. Brandi White was
given the DELKAB Award this year in recognition of her four years of service towards her FFA
chapter. And finally, Abby Gray, the newly retired Hermiston FFA President and graduating
senior, received the Outstanding FFA Member Award along with a scholarship the yearly district
FFA scholarship.
Among other people recognized were the state competing teams (Parliamentary
Procedures, Ag Issues, Sophomore Public Speaking, Ag Communication, Ag Mechanics, Meat
Judging, Dairy Food Judging, and Horse Judging) including the Ag Issues team that will be
competing in Nationals this October.
Darcy Sexson was awarded with an Honorary Degree during the banquet, while Tom
Denchel Ford Country was recognized with a Distinguished Service award.
The final matter of business during the banquet was the installation of the 2013-2014
Hermiston FFA Chapter Officers. This year's team consists of Zachary Vandehey, President;
Jared Walchli, Vice President; Taylor Katsel, Secretary; Chase Carlson, Treasurer; Jaycee Barron,
Reporter; and Jordon Smith, Sentinel.


Share and Discuss


User Comments