Home Ag Sectors

Bonners Ferry FFA Chapter Banquet

Published on May 30, 2012 3:01AM

Last changed on June 27, 2012 1:49PM

Bonners Ferry FFA Chapter Banquet

The Bonners Ferry FFA Chapter had their annual banquet on Saturday, May 26th. The Chapter Banquet is a time to reflect on the past year’s accomplishments. Bonners Ferry FFA had many things to celebrate about this year, one of which is degrees. To receive a degree a person must fill out an application and must have completed certain standards to receive the degree. There were eight first year members or Greenhand Degree recipients: Aaron Wolf, Robert Goad, Lucas Gleave, Gavin Flower, Collin Stone, Jessica Flower, and Spencer Jantz. The Star Greenhand Award that is given to a Greenhand Member that excels in the qualifications to become a Greenhand. This year’s Star Greenhand was Collin Stone. Another degree that a chapter can bestow upon a member is the Chapter Degree. Recipients of the chapter degree were Kate Wood, MaKenzie Carle, Gabrielle Munson, Justin Williams, Aaron Durham, and Chase Hannahs. The Star Chapter member was Gabrielle Munson.  The Honorary Degree was given to Bill Newbry, Mike DeVoe, and Kyle Renton of the Pacific Northwest Farmers Co-Op. They received the award because of their support of the Bonners Ferry FFA Chapter along with many other Chapters across the state. Although they were unable to attend the banquet, they will be mentioned at the growers meeting in the fall

 Garvin Williams, Liz Wood, and Gary Neumeyer received the Distinguished Service Citation. They received the award because of their contributions to the Bonners Ferry FFA chapter. Without their help, the FFA chapter wouldn’t be where it is at today. Carly Haworth and Scott Dugger received the Blue and Gold award which is an award for members who are involved and active in the chapter. They also received the award for their contributions to the chapter by going above and beyond what is asked.  Ayla Neumeyer received the DEKALB Agricultural Accomplishment Award which is an award given to a senior who excels in the knowledge of agriculture, leadership abilities, and agriculture work experiences.

Throughout the program, three very important members of the chapter said their goodbyes as they gave words of encouragement to younger members. Ayla Neumeyer, Carly Haworth, and Scott Dugger gave their retiring addresses from their offices held at the chapter. The retiring address of the seniors led the program into the final order of business for the night, which was the installation of the 2012-2013 officers for the Bonners Ferry FFA Chapter. The officers are Sentinel: Aaron Durham, Reporter: Collin Stone, Treasurer: Chase Hannahs, Secretary: Kate Wood, Vice President: Mackenzie Carle, and President: Gabrielle Munson. These officers will lead the chapter for the next year. The Chapter’s next event that they will be participating in is the State Career Development Events which is June 5th to the 8th in Moscow.

Collin Stone, Bonners Ferry FFA Chapter Reporter 



Share and Discuss


User Comments