Home State Idaho

Elmore County joins drought emergency list

USDA has declared Elmore County a primary natural disaster area due to drought.

Published on March 25, 2014 10:24AM

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The USDA has designated Elmore County, Idaho, as a primary natural disaster area due to drought conditions, according to a press release.

The agency’s March 19 announcement makes Elmore County farmers and ranchers available for low-interest emergency loans through USDA’s Farm Service Agency. Blaine, Camas, Boise, Gooding and Custer counties have also been added to the eligibility list for being contiguous to Elmore County.

Ada, Owyhee and Twin Falls counties — which are also contiguous to Elmore County — were previously made eligible for drought emergency benefits when Owyhee County was declared a primary natural disaster area on March 5. The Owyhee County declaration also made Canyon County, Idaho; Malheur County, Ore.; and Elko and Humboldt counties in Nevada eligible.


Share and Discuss


User Comments