Home State California

Drought declared in California’s Imperial County

The USDA has declared Imperial County in California as a primary disaster area because of drought.

Published on April 15, 2014 8:08PM

EL CENTRO, Calif. — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has added Imperial to its list of California counties to be declared disaster areas because of the state’s drought.

The April 9 designation makes farmers in Imperial County and in contiguous counties ­— Riverside and San Diego counties in California and La Paz and Yuma counties in Arizona — eligible for natural disaster assistance, according to a USDA news release.

Eligible farm operators in these areas may apply for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency, and additional programs include the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

Federal officials earlier this year designated portions of 11 drought-ridden western and central states as primary natural disaster areas.

For information, visit http://www.fsa.usda.gov/FSA/ .


Share and Discuss


User Comments